View Full Version : Reading the beach

Zeal
08-27-2012, 01:42 PM
Alright, I have used the search function and way too many things popped up concerning reading the beach.

I'm a rookie surfcaster and only know some basics on what to look for on the beach, but frankly, the only way I can find drop offs for sure are by using a bucktail or tin to feel out the bottom and also if it is more than just sand down there (i.e. a mussel bed).

Tired of skunks in the fall on the beach and frustrated since Fall is my favorite time of the year, if anyone can give their input it is much appreciated. Also if anyone can link me a topic they know of that has this information is great as well.

DZ
08-27-2012, 02:24 PM
Zeal,
Here is an excerpt from my book project that may help.
As basic as I can state it.

Transitions zones are key areas for a surfcaster to locate as they often act as a magnet for forage and in turn for striped bass.
(A transition zone is an area where one type of underwater bottom structure changes to another.) Example: sand beach transitions into a boulder field. Locate transition zones and you’ll often find striped bass.

Hope this helps.

DZ

chefchris401
08-27-2012, 03:44 PM
Zeal pm me your email, I saved a bunch or articles I'll send you
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

basswipe
08-27-2012, 04:41 PM
Never overlook using something like Google Earth if you're thinking of a specific area.DZ stated the importance of transition zones,if the imagery was taken on a clear sunny day you can certainly see these zones in many cases.

Its another tool that can help but in the end the only true thing that pays off is time and persistence.That and some luck.

Attached is an image of a spot I fish quite often.Not perfect but a great help in determining where to cast.Best fish from that area was 24#.

bart
08-27-2012, 05:02 PM