View Full Version : Getting Started

Linesider82
11-08-2012, 12:37 AM
I received a Jet lathe from a good friend in June and I would like to start turning lures as winter approaches. That being said, I do not know where to start. This is more intimidating than tying flies for the first time, and I'm sure these questions have been asked before but I'm certain new ideas abound. I've been tying flies for the last 6 years now. I assume the thru wire, hardware, and hook components are for the most part do it right or lose a fish. I would like to fumble with weight placement etc, however I would prefer to begin with the "right" base materials.

1) Tool Recs.

2) Wood stock Recs, best 3 or your recommended #1 for type plug.

3) Sealers & Paint

Thank you in advance for your time and input. -Matt

numbskull
11-08-2012, 06:31 AM
No end of info if you search.

Tools start with a roughing gouge, a skew, a parting tool, some calipers, and a book or video of how to use them. Face mask and respirator.

Wood go with pine, soft maple, and AYC

Paint, seal with varnish/mineral spirit mix 60/40, prime with whatever, spray with createx if you have an air brush, paint cans if not, clearcoat with epoxy. If you go the paint can route use their primer first.

Mojo7
11-08-2012, 07:46 AM
Safety! If you've never used a lathe be careful they can be very unforgiving.

If you do a search at the top of the page you'll find some great info. here. Also keep an eye open for the plugfest this site puts on in the early spring lots of builders there willing to share very helpful info.

Good luck it's alot of fun and very addicting.

blondterror
11-08-2012, 08:10 AM
If you get into it I recommend getting a Lee lead pot (melter) gives you more flexibility that using bought lead sizes and saves money in the long run...

It is a great hobby but warning... the costs do add up

Linesider82
11-08-2012, 09:31 AM