View Full Version : squidder help needed

addict
06-03-2003, 10:58 PM
I bought a used squidder and found the condition to be less than what I expected. I'm new to fishing, so pls bear with me.

1- It has a very hollow feel to it when I reel and cast. I have tried other squids and they feel a lot "tighter" in a good sense. Is this because I just need to service it? relube?

2- The antibacklash screw is now completely tightened. Is this because the drags are worn? Drags are pretty worn I think. I'm no expert, but the star drag needs to be almost locked to get any grip.

3- Finally, I want to polish the reel. Is this ok? Do I need to coat it with clear coat or something afterwards?

Thanks for any help

backlasher
06-03-2003, 11:32 PM
First off, I do not understand how you are "new to fishing" and yet bought a "used" squidder and then found it had a "hollow" feel as you have tried "other squidders". And this, the first squidder posting I've seen after many hours of browsing, yet timed just minutes after I ("backlasher") posted in. Is this a legit site?

Let's figure it's all coincidence, then. Welcome to the squidder family. I'd say, back off the set-screw for the time being (to allow easier roll of spool) then head to the Tackle shop and have them service your reel (the drag does squash up). Once fixed up, back your Star Drag off after every usage. As for shining the chrome...you can do that (ensure you wipe off the plastic and do not get any on the line though).

As for coating the reel...I have had my reel fully submerged in salt on many occasions. No coating necesary on a Squidder as long as you dutifully rinse it with fresh water.

Squidders' are slow, cheap, rugged, easily maintained, and cast a country mile (or backlash).

B.L.

NilsC
06-03-2003, 11:51 PM
Originally posted by backlasher
And this, the first squidder posting I've seen after many hours of browsing, yet timed just minutes after I ("backlasher") posted in. Is this a legit site?
B.L.