View Full Version : ProWrap

beamie
03-11-2013, 10:31 AM
So now that Gudebrod is being discontinued how many of you guys have used the Prowrap threads yet?

Or any of the entire ProWrap product line. Are they Great, good, ok etc......

chefchris401
03-11-2013, 10:43 AM
I'm pretty new to wrapping my own rods but all I use is the pro wrap, packs really nice, great color selection and lots of color and size options.

Seems the route a lot of builders are going and I think they have a gudebrod to their color conversion chart too.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

Saltheart
03-11-2013, 10:50 AM
Prowrap seems OK until you put the finish on. Then is goes somewhat transparent. I don't really like it compared to Gudebrod but its the most readily available right now. I plan to keep using my Gudebrod and madeira and keep my eye on the RB boards to see what people think of the other threads that will inevitably come out to try to grab the Gudebrod market.

pbadad
03-12-2013, 08:09 AM
I don't know who makes Pac-Bay but their metallics and NCP threads seemed OK. I have some National thread which lacks words to describe my dislikes. Shredding black thread, fuzzies, metallics kinkyand twists. They are readily available but I have a few different color/types and they don't do it for me.

paradoxjim
03-28-2013, 02:15 PM
I've used ProWrap nylon A with good results. It laid down fine and retained its color pretty well with CP; nice depth with the finish on it. The ProWrap metallic thread might be better suited in the suspension of your car. I did one rod with it and it came of the spool like a spring and was easily kinked. There are much better metallic choices readily available.

Fibrestar
03-28-2013, 03:36 PM