View Full Version : First truck...need advice

Zeal
07-02-2013, 07:39 PM
I just bought a 2005 Nissan Frontier and I can't wait to get it on the sand.

Problem is, I'm not sure what I will need to make it beachworthy without corroding, getting stuck, etc.

Can anyone suggest must haves and things good to have as well as a good way to keep things from rusting due to the salt?

I'm a total rookie, this is my first pickup.

Rappin Mikey
07-02-2013, 07:48 PM
Wash it good everytime you get off of the sand. Go to a place that will get the undercarriage. Things you need: tow rope, shovel, tire guage (to 5 PSI) Jack plank, full size spair, jack. You also need to know of a place close by where you can air up. Or get yourself a portable compressor. I keep my tires around 10 psi while on the sand. If you do get stuck. Don't try and gun your way out. Let a few more pounds out of each tire, than ease your way out. The more you spin the deeper in trouble you get (no pun intended). Rod racks make things a bit easier as well.

Then you need some hot chicks, beer, and fishing stuff. Make sure you hose down your girls and fishing gear before and after every outing. I hope this helped.

Saltheart
07-02-2013, 07:56 PM
Is it 4WD?. If yes , standard stuff are a shovel , tire guage to air down (you must airdown to go on the sand) , a tow strap , a 12 inch square piece of 3/4 inch plywood , always have a cell phone with you . a 12 volt air compressor for airing up helps , flashlight.....

niko
07-02-2013, 08:09 PM
have fun zeal. some of my fondest fishing memories are orv trips. if your airing down often some tire deflators are handy

gone fishin
07-02-2013, 08:10 PM