View Full Version : How do you learn boating?

Rockport24
07-15-2013, 02:51 PM
so if I ever want to buy a boat, how would you guys suggest I go about learning the proper way to use it?
I have zero boating experience besides tooling around a lake in my buddy's ski boat in college. Should I take a class, go out on a charter?

I have a pretty good sense for the "rules of the road" since I have been kayaking in the ocean for a long time now, but that's the extent of my knowledge.

fishsmith
07-15-2013, 03:24 PM
Charters are great to learn spots/technique. You'll learn a bit about boating too, but who wants to learn about boating when you can fish? If you've got any buddies with boats in the area you'll be boating, that would be my suggestion, pay for their fuel and get some OJT. A coast guard auxiliary course is always helpful too. Lastly, just remember 'red right return' and you'll know more than most on the water. :) good luck, if you got the $$ and the time, go for it.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

piemma
07-15-2013, 04:15 PM
Just remember that there is more to it than just driving. I suggest you take the CG course. I am constantly amazed at the number of big expensive boats I see up on the sand bar at Oakland Beach and Conimicut Point. Green cans everywhere and these guys are all on the wrong side headed out.

Another pet peeve of mine is, "boat on your right has the right of way". I'd like to have a dollar for every time I have had to heave too to avoid an impending collision. Just the other day I had a guy in the middle of Narr bay down by Hope island barrel across my bow. We were on a definite collision course and if I hadn't backed down there would have been one. Even more unbelievable is he had 2 small kids on board without life jackets on. BTW, yes I was on his right but he could have cared less.

Rockport24
07-15-2013, 04:41 PM