View Full Version : Never ceases to Amaze me

Jackbass
08-29-2013, 11:50 AM
I am an electrician. I just walked out of a customers location that recently under went renovation. The electrician that did the renovation left multiple code violations behind that have caused them to lose production and sales due to Inoperation of neccesary circuitry. Circuit breakers installed in panels where they stripped the threads on the bussing. Equipment grounds used as neutrals. Distribution conductors left loose enough that the wires were discolored and insulation has begun to melt away. Loose connections to neutral bars and breakers.

The level of apathy is disgusting. I am not gods gift to the NEC but at least make an effort to do the job.

FishermanTim
08-29-2013, 12:29 PM
I hope the customer had reported the original electrician, as that was definitely neglegent and shoddy workmanship.

I agree, it never ceases to amaze when "so called" professionals do (very) sub-par work and still insist on getting paid as if they actually did the job correctly!

My parents had a "carpenter" put in a single story deck off the back of their house. The work was done with nails instead of deck screws and within a couple of years it was evident that it was too wobbly to lean against any railings.
They complained to the builder, who ducked and dodged them for months until they threatened legal action. The builder didn't come back to fix the problem but did reimburse them a portion of the cost.

They had the railings reinforced with lag bolts and deck scres and it is still standing today.

Sometimes all you can rely on is yourself and your sound judgement!

Swimmer
08-29-2013, 02:12 PM