View Full Version : mono leaders vs. fluorocarbon

rwilhelm
07-10-2003, 11:54 AM
I make my own mono leaders using 40# test. I have heard that fluorocarbon leaders work better than mono because it is less visible. What is everyone's thoughts on this, and which fluorocarbon do you recommend?

schoolie monster
07-10-2003, 02:35 PM
I've been using fluoro leaders for two years now and I believe in it. Its one of those deals where I don't think it matters much when fish are active and aggressive, but when things are slow and the fish a finiky for whatever reason, I think it helps get you more strikes.

And the main thing is that I believe in it and it gives me more confidence... if that's all it does, its worth its weight.

I've used seaguar, bps' extreme and stren... but I can't really compare them cause they are different lb. test. I know the stren 40lb. is really hard to work with (ties knots with), but I think most fluoro is pretty inflexible at higher lb. tests.

Good N You
07-10-2003, 02:46 PM
Seaguar works. It is extruded differently and doesn't refract light at an angle. It is worth the money.

Nauti Buoy
07-11-2003, 08:47 AM
I recently cut a piece of Seguar 40# fluorocarbon leader material, a piece of Yo-Zuri 40# clear Hybrid (fluorocarbon over nylon), a piece of Yo-Zuri 40# smoke Hybrid, and a piece of Stren 40# mono leader mateial. I put them all in a clear wine glass of water and viewed them in a shady background and also in a well lighted area. In both cases the fluorocarbon leader was much less visible than the others. Each of the others had a very discernible shine that the fluorocarbon leader did not.

The second less visible was the Yo-Zuri clear Hybrid. The Yo-Zuri smoke Hybrid was surprisingly competitive with the Stren mono leader, as it seemed to have picked up a translucence quality.

macojoe
07-11-2003, 10:28 AM