View Full Version : advice please

brubjnb
07-21-2003, 09:57 PM
I am relatively new to striper fishing. I live in Pennsylvania, and only went striper fishing once, two years ago with a friend who lives in Sandwich Mass, and has a boat. My 19 year old son and I are driving to the Cape for a short weekend the first weekend in August. We will be driving up Saturday, fishing with Steve on his boat on Sunday and then will be looking for a good place to fish from shore Monday morning before heading back to Pennsylvania Monday afternoon. We're staying at the Old Colony in East Sandwich, Mass, so looking for something within reasonable driving distance from there.
Just bought a new 9' quantum blue rod with matching quantum blue 80 reel. Have it spooled with 25# ANDE pink line. Anxious to try it out up there.
Any advice on terminal tackle for shore fishing??
Thanks
:confused:

Fish On
07-22-2003, 07:11 PM
Some of the more experienced guys have been very helpful to me so let me take a shot at helping you out. As far a spots for shore fishing, I can really only speak to the Vineyard on the south cape. If you do decide to look there try south beach. There is an access road through Katama and you can drive a 4 wheel drive vehicle all the way close to Chappy without any permit. You can also try Gay Head which is the west end of the island. The tough part about Gay Head is that you must park and walk a mile or 2 to get to the best spots. Perhaps some of the other guys that fish near Sandwich can help you with closer locations.

Terminal gear would depend on the type of bait you are fishing. If fishing at night I recommend live eels. You can buy the eel hooks that are tied with a 60 lb leader and barrel swivel all together. They come in packs of 2 for about $2-$3. Use a fish finder above the barrel swivel with a good size pyramid weight depending on the tide/current. 16 oz is probably about average for what I use.

Good luck.

bassmaster
07-22-2003, 07:19 PM