View Full Version : Vacuum bag machine recommendations

Guppy
10-24-2016, 12:09 PM
Could use one... Some?

Would like to put away some tog for the winter for the war department and I .

As long as the boats in I pretty much have our needs covered

Would appreciate u's recommendations

Steve K
10-24-2016, 12:24 PM
I have been using a foodsaver for over 15 years and I am very happy with it. My first one lasted over 10 years of heavy use.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

Cool Beans
10-24-2016, 01:03 PM
we have a small handheld vacuum device that uses the bags that have the small circle seal on them, was very cheap at wallmart. it is rechargeable and sucks most of the air out and its what I use for tog.

I think the thing cost less than $20 and then we buy the bags there too. I've been using the same one for 2 years now and its still working fine

The one we have is called Fresh Saver and made by Food Saver (https://www.walmart.com/ip/FoodSaver-FreshSaver-Handheld-Vacuum-System/15777783) cost is $17

https://i5.walmartimages.com/asr/bc6f4177-b1b4-4bc4-ac93-56c3b0815fbd_1.dbfdb42c4aae4ef6734b8b19ee283fe3.jp eg?odnHeight=450&odnWidth=450&odnBg=FFFFFF

Slipknot
10-24-2016, 01:18 PM
I use a Foodsaver, easy to use

sometimes with wet stuff, if you freeze it for a bit so the juice doesn't get sucked up, it will help so the seal doesn't fail since it just melts the bag to seal it, and if water is present, it may leak air much like plumbing when trying to sweat a pipe that is wet.

niko
10-24-2016, 01:58 PM
I bag up what I want to freeze and just submerge the bag in a bucket of water and zip them shut - sometimes I stick a straw in the baggies and zip it most of the way shut - pull out the straw and zip it quick and almost no air gets back in

Got Stripers
10-24-2016, 02:25 PM
Food saver and happy with it.

ecduzitgood
10-24-2016, 03:39 PM