View Full Version : VS 150 Limitations

Rmarsh
09-05-2019, 07:19 AM
The guy I've been fishing with for the last 16 years hooked into something large a couple of nights ago that he couldn't land and it eventually broke off after over an hour of give and take. He's caught a few stripers in the 40# range in the past and said it had to be much larger than that and maybe something other than a striped bass. He usually fishes a vs 250 but when it went in for service he picked up a new 150 to add to his arsenal. I watched as he tried to turn the crank handle grasping the entire handle because trying to rotate it with just the knob was futile. I suggested he try walking it down the beach...and he gained back a lot of line doing that...then the 40# braid broke off. We speculated about what it might have been (it wasn't a lobster pot or stuck on anything). My question to vs 150 owners ...have you had similar experiences...is this reel capable of subduing something over lets say 60#?
Was considering a 150 but not so sure now.

tlapinski
09-05-2019, 08:03 AM
Schoolie bluefin have been landed on the VS150 so it can handle most any sized striped bass under the right conditions. The 150 has limitations in the surf, but so do all reels. I've had fish (in all likelihood not striped bass) that I couldn't handle on my VS250. There is a lot more than just the reel that goes into it.

Rmarsh
09-05-2019, 09:00 AM
I tend to believe it was not a stiped bass....pumping the rod and reeling down the slack did nothing....rod just bent more.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

saltyric
09-05-2019, 09:55 AM
brown shark?

JohnR
09-05-2019, 11:06 AM
Shark, seal, Tuna ; )

I had something I could not stop years ago on a Calcutta 400 and a cut down 120 Batson ; )

zimmy
09-05-2019, 11:19 AM
If Al McReynolds could land a 78 lber on a penn 710, it would take a pretty strong fish to cause trouble for a VS 150.

ThrowingTimber
09-05-2019, 12:02 PM
Nothing makes fish bigger than almost being caught...