Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/index.php)
-   Kayaking (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/forumdisplay.php?f=57)
-   -   WHAT TO WEAR ON MY LEGS (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/showthread.php?t=86379)

dannyplug1 07-21-2014 12:45 PM

WHAT TO WEAR ON MY LEGS

I have been kayaking for at least fifteen years and I have worn a wet suit on my sit on top and occasionally wear waders. Are there any specific types of pants for kayaking? The waders are just too hot until September. And I don't want to destroy a pair of simms waders while getting in and out of the kayak. Any suggestions?

Liv2Fish 07-21-2014 04:38 PM

You wear waders in a kayak? That seems a bit dangerous. What would you do if you rolled it? Not to tell you what to do but just curious?

jonserfish 07-21-2014 06:17 PM

chest waders are very dangerous in a yak. you might have gotten away with it for a while but should not push your luck. paddling pants (and dry top for rough days) (and if needed neoprene diving socks)are the way

check out Kokata Tropos there are cheaper pants on the market but the ll bean warrenty makes them cheaper in the long run

FishermanTim 07-22-2014 10:45 AM

I chopped the legs (around knee high) off a pair of old waders for getting in and out of the kayak. This is my chouce because of the questionable water quality (algae and bacteria blooms) in some of the waters I fish. It allows me to walk in the water deep enough to launch without bottoming out.

I had more than my share of rashes from algae and bacteria issues in a number of ponds over the years and I just don't want to deal with it any more.