Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/index.php)
-   The Scuppers (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Oxy-Acetylene torch questions (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/showthread.php?t=69138)

Mr. Sandman 02-09-2011 09:34 AM

Oxy-Acetylene torch questions

I am considering getting one. I am finding more and more need for one. The last time I did any welding or Oxy-acetylene activity was a looong time ago. I am no expert that is for sure.

Can you guys recommend a small kit for a non-commercial guy?

Can you rent these at tool stores?

Nebe 02-09-2011 10:08 AM

definitely rent one if its just a once or twice a year type of thing. .

home cheapo has a decent small torch kit that i have considered, but when i need one, i just borrow the mechanic's across the street... one thing to consider is how much usage the torch will get, and do you want to buy a o2 tank or lease one.. you go through a small tank of o2 pretty quick.

Gary 02-09-2011 08:28 PM

You also have to concider the lease on the tanks, Airco in Hyannis doesn't allow you to buy tanks, but you can lease for 65 a year. I deal with Corp Bros, 67 a year for lease and their quite a bit cheaper on product. As for torches Victor all the way, A. O. Smiths is next.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

Raider Ronnie 02-09-2011 09:59 PM

Most any gas supplier will sell you a small set, I believe up to 20 cubic ft.
I would buy from a supply house rather than home depot, lowes, ect....
The supply house is where you can bring them to fill later not home depot, ect.....

Saltheart 02-10-2011 05:13 PM

What are yu going to do with it? That may make a big difference on what to buy , etc

Backbeach Jake 02-10-2011 06:24 PM

Study up on how to use them and handle the tanks. Safety first. Did you know it's dangerous to lay a Acety tank down horizontally?