Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/index.php)
-   Muzik (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/forumdisplay.php?f=95)
-   -   Bluegrass Performances (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/showthread.php?t=68361)

Canalman 01-05-2011 05:56 PM

Bluegrass Performances

I have been on a bluegrass kick lately... even been trying to learn how to flatpick on the guitar. Looking for some more inspiration, show me something! Here's Phish doing Uncle Pen from 1990, solid guitar work here...

YouTube - Phish - Uncle Pen 1990

Backbeach Jake 01-05-2011 06:22 PM

I grew up with that music. Hated it. Then one day I tried flatpicking. The next day I gave my guitar away. My brother in law is a self taught flat picker extrordinaire. He teaches as well. Banjo , too. If you'd like lessons PM me.

PS. as an aside I grew up on the Country Music HighWay (Rt.23, Lawrence Co. KY) and Ricky Skaggs went to my High School, albeit a coupla years behind me.

Canalman 01-05-2011 10:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Backbeach Jake (Post 824514)
I grew up with that music. Hated it. Then one day I tried flatpicking. The next day I gave my guitar away. My brother in law is a self taught flat picker extrordinaire. He teaches as well. Banjo , too. If you'd like lessons PM me.

PS. as an aside I grew up on the Country Music HighWay (Rt.23, Lawrence Co. KY) and Ricky Skaggs went to my High School, albeit a coupla years behind me.

I am way past my taking lessons days. I've been playing for 16 years at this point I'm not going to get any better than what I can learn myself :biglaugh:, I'm too set in my ways! It used to be something I strived to be great at, now it's just something I enjoy doing to pass a winter night. Kind of keeps the mind sharp.

Incidentally I was just watching videos of Skaggs yesterday.

-Dave

ProfessorM 01-06-2011 06:32 PM

got lots of inspiration here.