Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/index.php)
-   Grumpy Old Pharts Board (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   I've come to realize (http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/showthread.php?t=58366)

Backbeach Jake 07-21-2009 08:30 PM

I've come to realize

That my profession is dead. Auto Collision Repair. Employers have been screwing the help for years. Paid time off, what a joke PTO all encompassing personal time, includes personal days, vacation and sick time. No raises for years at a time. No incentive pay. I think that I'm about done with chit after 40 years, I'm I-CAR Platinum certified, an I-CAR Certified automotive mig welder, 20 years Chevrolet certified, Licensed Appraiser and it all adds up to jack squat. I don't mind working hard at 57 years old but I sure do mind getting stuffed if I don't keep an eye on HR. I'm an honest and reliable employee who always looks at the company's interest, but the constant chiseling of benefits and compensation is driving me out of my gourd.Eff this, I looking for something else.

justplugit 07-21-2009 08:51 PM

Man Fred, that is a shame. :( With your qualifications and hard work you would
think you would be in high demand, but the way this country has changed and the way employers treat their employees today is sick.
It's epidemic. :mad:

Slingah 07-21-2009 09:00 PM

that truly stinks Fred....keep your chin up....someone out there must need someone like you with those qualifications....if your not getting what you want ....looked elsewhere...good luck

Raider Ronnie 07-22-2009 06:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Backbeach Jake (Post 701508)
That my profession is dead. Auto Collision Repair.

Absolutely a dead industry !!!
I've been in the same line of work my whole life.