Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

     

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Build Stuff: Custom Plug & Lure Building, Rod Building » Plug Building - Got Wood?

Plug Building - Got Wood? Got Plug?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2013, 09:34 AM   #1
iamskippy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
iamskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A village some where
Posts: 3,436
How good could this lathe be

For the $$

I have bought some tools from HF before and they worked just fine, the specs look good with a 1/2 hp motor just a little slower on the max RPM then i would like. Plus there a 25% off coupon with 6.99 shipping. Just wanted to get some thoughts fro the experts here.



http://www.harborfreight.com/5-speed...the-65345.html
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 10:22 AM   #2
Sgt Striper
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
Sgt Striper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: S. Jersey Shore
Posts: 912
For $146.00 it's probably worth getting, just get a good spur for it and I think you will be ok turning plugs with it. Take a ride to the store in Fall River or Warwick and check it out!

"The lips stand out because she wants to suck on your Pikie."....Mike Laptew
Van Staal Service/Repair Technician
Sgt Striper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 10:39 AM   #3
PRBuzz
BuzzLuck
iTrader: (0)
 
PRBuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brockton
Posts: 6,414
Send a message via Skype™ to PRBuzz
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamskippy View Post
For the $$

I have bought some tools from HF before and they worked just fine, the specs look good with a 1/2 hp motor just a little slower on the max RPM then i would like. Plus there a 25% off coupon with 6.99 shipping. Just wanted to get some thoughts fro the experts here.



http://www.harborfreight.com/5-speed...the-65345.html
It has gotten 275 reviews from actual owners, check those out? Says $6.99 shipping "most" orders, bet this isn't one of the "most" group?

Given the diversity of the human species, there is no “normal” human genome sequence. We are all mutants.
PRBuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 11:46 AM   #4
iamskippy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
iamskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A village some where
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRBuzz View Post
It has gotten 275 reviews from actual owners, check those out? Says $6.99 shipping "most" orders, bet this isn't one of the "most" group?
It is buzzy, i put it in the cart and made sure. The reviews are compelling
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:22 PM   #5
Hookedagain
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
Hookedagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset Ma
Posts: 1,401
I have their floor model, it was my first lathe, and it is still going strong with never an issue. I actually enjoy turning on it. I have 2 others and kind of use this as my "go to" lathe.
Hookedagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:24 PM   #6
Charleston
Certified Mass-hole
iTrader: (0)
 
Charleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ but born and raised in Massachusetts.
Posts: 1,223
That lathe looks almost identical to the old Jet 1014. I am sure it's worth every penny of the asking price.
Charleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 03:37 PM   #7
ProfessorM
Uncle Remus
iTrader: (0)
 
ProfessorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lakeville Ma.
Posts: 14,608
looks like a great deal to me.

"A beach is a place where a man can feel he's the only soul in the world that's real"
ProfessorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 04:52 PM   #8
rayndogg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fall River,MA.
Posts: 103
Had mine for a few years now. Changed the spur and added a vega midi. Just used it today punched out a couple dozen poppers. Works great was even thinking of getting another one to set up without the duplicator.
Rene
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
rayndogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 06:07 PM   #9
ProfessorM
Uncle Remus
iTrader: (0)
 
ProfessorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lakeville Ma.
Posts: 14,608
There you go someone who has used it. seems to be good enough for plug building.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
ProfessorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 12:51 PM   #10
ThrowingTimber
It's about respect baby!
iTrader: (0)
 
ThrowingTimber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ri
Posts: 6,351
Blog Entries: 1
I'm pretty sure the one you are looking at you have to move the belt onto a different pulley to get a different speed. The one they list for $129 has the rheostat that changes the speed which I believe makes it a bit more convenient if your going to be using your lathe to through drill stuff like needlfish etc.

Domination takes full concentration..
ThrowingTimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:42 PM   #11
Saltheart
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Saltheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cumberland,RI
Posts: 8,555
The one you linked to looks way sturdier than the variable speed one. Changing belts is a pain but even with the VS one you need to change belts sometimes.

Anyway , I have a Rikon VS and VS is a nice feature but that $129 one looks a little lightweight to me. Also the one you linked to has 1/2 HP , the VS is 1/3 HP. $146 is a very low price!

Saltheart
Custom Crafted Rods by Saltheart
Saltheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 02:16 AM   #12
TheLureWasher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol CT
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to TheLureWasher
I own this and would definitely recommend it to anyone! Thats how i bought it. waited till it was on sale and then used the 25% off coupon. its great. Swapped the spur for a PSI super drive center. Added the vega midi and i was off to the races. I set it up for the faster speeds and havent changed it since.
TheLureWasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 06:02 AM   #13
iamskippy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
iamskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A village some where
Posts: 3,436
Update, the first one i bought was DOA had motor issues, returned it and i have never been happier, i have not set up my new dupe yet but i have been turning by hand and its been a blast. Thinking about getting a second one for the dupe so i can free hand on one nd dupe on the other.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 08:37 AM   #14
Swimmer
Retired Surfer
iTrader: (0)
 
Swimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sunset Grill
Posts: 9,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamskippy View Post
Update, the first one i bought was DOA had motor issues, returned it and i have never been happier, i have not set up my new dupe yet but i have been turning by hand and its been a blast. Thinking about getting a second one for the dupe so i can free hand on one nd dupe on the other.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

John I have the tool rest mounted on the back of the lathe, with dupe on the front, so I can turn it around to freehand or make adjustments to what I am working on.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

Swimmer a.k.a. YO YO MA
Serial Mailbox Killer/Seal Fisherman
Swimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 08:44 AM   #15
BigFish
BigFish Bait Co.
iTrader: (1)
 
BigFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hanover
Posts: 23,341
Send a message via AIM to BigFish
John be aware if you decide to mount yours on the back as Frank did you need to flip the cutter upside down!

Almost time to get our fish on!!!
BigFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 11:30 AM   #16
Swimmer
Retired Surfer
iTrader: (0)
 
Swimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sunset Grill
Posts: 9,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFish View Post
John be aware if you decide to mount yours on the back as Frank did you need to flip the cutter upside down!
Oh!
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device


Chit, thats a good idea! Had not used it yet, but I hope after a brief moment I might have recognized the problem.

Last edited by Swimmer; 02-05-2014 at 08:28 PM..

Swimmer a.k.a. YO YO MA
Serial Mailbox Killer/Seal Fisherman
Swimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 07:03 PM   #17
iamskippy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
iamskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A village some where
Posts: 3,436
Ok, new rule, dont take advice from Frank, he plans on spinning wood going the wrong direction lol poor frank, please make sure you wear a face shield bud.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 08:02 PM   #18
bigdaug
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: WV
Posts: 11
I just got one of these. Same model same deal but it came with the 6" rest. My 1st one so I have nothing to compare it to.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
bigdaug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 08:32 PM   #19
Swimmer
Retired Surfer
iTrader: (0)
 
Swimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sunset Grill
Posts: 9,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamskippy View Post
Ok, new rule, dont take advice from Frank, he plans on spinning wood going the wrong direction lol poor frank, please make sure you wear a face shield bud.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
If I mounted the tool rest on the back side of the lathe, key word "tool rest" that would mean I am going to use chisels to manually shape wood. Only some of those would have to be turned upside down. However, the straight edge chisels would be used much the same, no?
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

Swimmer a.k.a. YO YO MA
Serial Mailbox Killer/Seal Fisherman
Swimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 08:38 PM   #20
Pete F.
Canceled
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: vt
Posts: 7,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swimmer View Post
If I mounted the tool rest on the back side of the lathe, key word "tool rest" that would mean I am going to use chisels to manually shape wood. Only some of those would have to be turned upside down. However, the straight edge chisels would be used much the same, no?
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
You need the wood spinning towards the rest. You cannot hold the tool if it is spinning the other way.

Thousands of Americans are dying every week. The President's response?

"We're seeing indications that our strong mitigation efforts are working. Very well, actually." He adds, "The numbers are getting very good."
"It is what it is."
Pete F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 08:40 PM   #21
iamskippy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
iamskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A village some where
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete F. View Post
You need the wood spinning towards the rest. You cannot hold the tool if it is spinning the other way.
Yupper
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 08:43 AM   #22
Swimmer
Retired Surfer
iTrader: (0)
 
Swimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sunset Grill
Posts: 9,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete F. View Post
You need the wood spinning towards the rest. You cannot hold the tool if it is spinning the other way.
Oh well, the best laid plans often go awry. Thanks.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

Swimmer a.k.a. YO YO MA
Serial Mailbox Killer/Seal Fisherman
Swimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 09:36 AM   #23
Slipknot
Super Moderator
iTrader: (0)
 
Slipknot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Middleboro MA
Posts: 16,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swimmer View Post
If I mounted the tool rest on the back side of the lathe, key word "tool rest" that would mean I am going to use chisels to manually shape wood. Only some of those would have to be turned upside down. However, the straight edge chisels would be used much the same, no?
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
Frank, just mount the duplicator on the backside leaving the front for freehand work. put the dup bit in upside down.
Then your front is used with chisels going the correct direction for toolrest.

I believe Mac set his up that way
it's a good way to do it if you only have one lathe and don't want to swap out the duplicator back and forth if you want to or need to use the lathe conventionally. I have 2 lathes now but I used to set the duplicator up and take it off, but it was not one of the store bought ones.

The United States Constitution does not exist to grant you rights; those rights are inherent within you. Rather it exists to frame a limited government so that those natural rights can be exercised freely.

1984 was a warning, not a guidebook!
Slipknot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 01:52 PM   #24
Charleston
Certified Mass-hole
iTrader: (0)
 
Charleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ but born and raised in Massachusetts.
Posts: 1,223
Put the tool rest mount between the straps of your duplicator. Take the dup off use tool rest. Put dup back on. Everything done on the front with the wood turning in the proper direction.
Charleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 02:37 PM   #25
Saltheart
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Saltheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cumberland,RI
Posts: 8,555
Use the locking shaft collets so you can unmounts and remount the duplicator easily.

Saltheart
Custom Crafted Rods by Saltheart
Saltheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Please use all necessary and proper safety precautions. STAY SAFE Striper Talk Forums
Copyright 1998-20012 Striped-Bass.com