Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

     

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating Main Forum Boat Fishing & Boating

Boat Fishing & Boating A new forum at Striped-Bass.com for those fishing from boats and for boating in general

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2017, 02:14 PM   #1
wdmso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somerset MA
Posts: 1,581
VHF BATT LOW

got this message yesterday could receive but when I attempted to Transmit saw BATT LOW.. engine off with 2 batteries charged before the trip .. however with the engine running no issues ??

Batterie connections are tight no corrosion

and all connection to the radio are tight

and the BATT LOW happens when electronics are on or off?

any other ideas to find this gremlin
wdmso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 03:25 PM   #2
beamie
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
beamie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marshfield, MA
Posts: 1,475
Have you put a voltmeter on each battery. Just cause you changed before the trip doesn't mean they are holding a charge.

One may be 12.6 and the other only 9.6 and drawing combined down.

Try engine off with one battery, and then the other. Getting the alarm on both or just one?

Jon, 24' Nauset-Green Topsides, Beamie, North River. Channel 68/69. MSBA, NIBA
beamie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 03:39 PM   #3
piemma
Very Grumpy bay man
iTrader: (0)
 
piemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 8,427
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamie View Post
Have you put a voltmeter on each battery. Just cause you changed before the trip doesn't mean they are holding a charge.

One may be 12.6 and the other only 9.6 and drawing combined down.

Try engine off with one battery, and then the other. Getting the alarm on both or just one?
BINGO! I bet one or both are dropping voltage.

I'm done
piemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 03:52 PM   #4
niko
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
niko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: marshfield
Posts: 3,359
There's also a hi/low setting on the radio
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
niko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 05:24 PM   #5
Liv2Fish
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
Liv2Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chasing fat girls in the dark
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by piemma View Post
BINGO! I bet one or both are dropping voltage.
x2. definitely where to start. go check each battery volts now. After running all day, they should be at 13 or so. disconnect terminals before testing. If good, put grounds on and hook up one wire at a time until you see a drop or you can pull an amp test wire by wire. Maybe you have a short to ground or a bad electric motor (pump, blower, etc) draining juice. If bats are good and no drain, its likely that your wire to the radio is corroded mid wire, maybe a knick in insulation somewhere that gets wet and salty. check volts at bat and then at radio using same ground source (- battery lug) if you get the same reading, reverse the test and test from positive battery lug to the ground wire at the radio to see which one is corroded.

"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children"
Liv2Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 05:43 PM   #6
wdmso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somerset MA
Posts: 1,581
I did as you all have suggested prior to reading your responses . And you were all spot on . With batterie switch on 2 got the batt low. Tested each bank and got same message only on my deep cell .. problem almost solved .. thanks everone
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
wdmso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 06:39 PM   #7
Clammer
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
Clammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Warwick RI,02889
Posts: 10,454
Wayne , ya stayed home today ?????????

ENJOY WHAT YOU HAVE !!!

MIKE
Clammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 08:24 PM   #8
thefishingfreak
"Fishbucket"
iTrader: (1)
 
thefishingfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bahston Hahbah
Posts: 6,526
You probably have an inadequate gauge wire running too far with cheesy connections to the radio itself.not providing enough amps at the radio
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
thefishingfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 03:56 AM   #9
wdmso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somerset MA
Posts: 1,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clammer View Post
Wayne , ya stayed home today ?????????
NOPE ... but the fog did mess with the fish ..
found some in bristol harbor Tight lipped found some small blues on Ohio ledge
wdmso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 07:29 AM   #10
Clammer
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
Clammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Warwick RI,02889
Posts: 10,454
they kept swimming by us all day . Denis couldn,t get them to hit ><>

ENJOY WHAT YOU HAVE !!!

MIKE
Clammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin. Copyright 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Please use all necessary and proper safety precautions. STAY SAFE Striper Talk Forums
Copyright 1998-20012 Striped-Bass.com