Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Main Forum » Boat Fishing & Boating

Boat Fishing & Boating A new forum at Striped-Bass.com for those fishing from boats and for boating in general

Old 07-20-2016, 05:53 AM   #1
Rmarsh

Fluke fishing

What are your best methods for catching them?
What kind of structure, depth? Do you drift or anchor?
What tackle setup works best?

Thanks
Rmarsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 06:54 AM   #2
JFigliuolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmarsh View Post
What are your best methods for catching them?
What kind of structure, depth? Do you drift or anchor?
What tackle setup works best?

Thanks
I'm no expert but here's what I like...
1. Wind/tide mostly in the same direction OR at least I can use a drift sock to overcome a crappy wind.

2. Depth depends. I like deeper water, but a VERY good fisherman i know likes shallow. Generally, once you find them they will be at the same depth most of the tide

3. Structure? i like sand/small rocks and pebbles. I've gotten some NICE fluke in very rocky structure. For me, the gear lost trade off isn't worth it.

4. I use 2 rods now.
A. I bucktail with one with a teaser 12" up. (1-3 ounces, 3 VERY
RARELY, usually 1.5) both using gulp.
B. Dead stick with a fluke rig. I use squid UNTIL I get my first
keeper, then i cut the "wings" off the fluke belly and use that.

I like rising depth, i always try to drift into shallower water. I'll start either in a hole and drift out, or up onto a hump. Drifting edges and/or ledges is also productive. basically ambush spots ar place fluke can have bait swept into them. UNLIKE bass, i rarely find them on the deeper side of a slope/structure at least not consistently.