Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Today's Posts Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Build Stuff: Custom Plug & Lure Building, Rod Building » Plug Building - Got Wood?

Plug Building - Got Wood? Got Plug?

Old 02-10-2010, 12:59 AM   #1
justinhill

Wire Question??

I have been building plugs for a while now. I usually use wood screw eyes. so the whole thru wire construction im a noob at. here are some pics of what i have come up with. is there any tips to getting the wire tucked into the body more so there isnt such big gaps between the body?

justinhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 10:00 AM   #2
Slipknot
Super Moderator

Yes there are tricks to get the loops closer.
You may be able to find a better explanation on the forum but I'll try to give you my short version. Mike Fixter taught me this.
Drill your thru hole a bit larger than usual, 5/32" might be enough but I use 3/16" sometime on large jointed pikies. Form your front loop, slide in front half of plug and mark the wire where you want the loop. Next bend it all the way over 180 degrees as tight as you can, then when you send it thru the plug again the wire will go thru the large swivel and out the end. Once this is done I take an awl and begin to open up the loop. So with the tag ends inside the plug, you now have a tighter loop at the back of the front half of the plug, then you slip your already bent loop for the front of the other part into that loop and proceed.

easy, see?
Slipknot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 11:17 AM   #3
jkswimmer

You are twisting the wire at both ends, only one end needs to be twisted the other needs just a open loop. You can counter sink the hole to get the loop to receed in further.
jkswimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 11:30 AM   #4
justinhill