Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

     

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Striper Chat - Discuss stuff other than fishing ~ The Scuppers and Political talk » Computers

Computers Sidetrack to Computers, Questions on your home computer? Posting just for registered members....

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2014, 09:17 PM   #1
Katie
Scuttlebutt
iTrader: (0)
 
Katie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Westport,MA
Posts: 2,378
Send a message via AIM to Katie Send a message via MSN to Katie Send a message via Skype™ to Katie
HP dv6000 screen issues

I was given a HP dv6000, had it booting and working perfectly. The other night the screen went out and will not turn back on. It still boots up fine, can hear the start up noises and all.

When booting up, the screen does show the boot up screen, then turns off.

Any ideas on fixing this?

Thanks!


Wasajigifying -[ was - a - jig-i-fy-ing] - the concept of not knowing what the hell your saying.


My Photography Page!
Katie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 11:35 PM   #2
iamskippy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
iamskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A village some where
Posts: 3,436
Katie what operating system is it?
Does the light om the montor turn amber or flash?
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 08:13 AM   #3
PRBuzz
BuzzLuck
iTrader: (0)
 
PRBuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brockton
Posts: 6,411
Send a message via Skype™ to PRBuzz
There is a key combination like Ctl-F5 that lets you rotate between laptop screen or external monitor or both. Try hitting that combination a couple times after booting up. Look for a screen icon on the Function keys.

Given the diversity of the human species, there is no “normal” human genome sequence. We are all mutants.
PRBuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 09:05 AM   #4
Ian
Idiot
iTrader: (0)
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 1,975
Sounds like a driver issue once you get to the OS. Try booting in safe mode to see if it prevents the screen from turning off after the "boot screen". If it does, report it back here. Uninstalling the driver is a fairly simple process to walk through.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 03:17 PM   #5
Katie
Scuttlebutt
iTrader: (0)
 
Katie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Westport,MA
Posts: 2,378
Send a message via AIM to Katie Send a message via MSN to Katie Send a message via Skype™ to Katie
I have tried booting in safe mode, screen still blanks out. It has Vista on it. It doesn't flash or turn Amber.

I will try the Ctrl F5 when I get back home and let you guys know!
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
Katie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 04:02 PM   #6
iamskippy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
iamskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A village some where
Posts: 3,436
http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Noteboo...m/td-p/2673015

Give that a read, i have found several places on the interwebz where a bios updaye seemed to cause your problem. There are a few things listed above.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 04:08 PM   #7
Redsoxticket
...
iTrader: (0)
 
Redsoxticket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MA/RI
Posts: 2,374
Battery fully charged ?

The AC plug show that it is charging battery ?

Remove battery, clean battery terminals with eraser, then install battery.

Secondly try resetting your ram memory. I had a similar problem with an older pc and resetting the memory cards did the fix.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
Redsoxticket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 07:01 PM   #8
Ian
Idiot
iTrader: (0)
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie View Post
I have tried booting in safe mode, screen still blanks out. It has Vista on it. It doesn't flash or turn Amber.

I will try the Ctrl F5 when I get back home and let you guys know!
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
Been a while since I went through troubleshooting steps on a client device, but if you boot into full safe mode (no networking or anything) and it still doesn't play well I would wager that key combinations aren't going to change your success.

I'd look at the bundle of stuff you got with the computer and see if HP shipped you a proprietary hardware diagnostic disk and work through that.

EDIT: to the same tune as the reseating memory, when the screen goes black does the computer make any beeps or does a light on the device blink in any discernable pattern? Sometimes those little things are actually hardware diagnostic codes being generated at the firmware level.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

The artist formerly known as Scratch59.
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 08:11 PM   #9
Raven
........
iTrader: (0)
 
Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 22,755
Blog Entries: 1
yeah see if you have a second connection
for another monitor /flat screen and hook it up
to that one for the short term for doing diagnostics

sometimes<<< there's a power saver option>>> that shuts it
off to soon ...so if you get the opportunity set
the computer back to all default settings it came with
then give it a whirl
Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 08:57 PM   #10
JohnR
Certifiable Intertidal Anguiologist
iTrader: (1)
 
JohnR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Somewhere between OOB & west of Watch Hill
Posts: 32,540
Blog Entries: 1
let it boot and then take a flashlight and shine it on the screen, look all over and see if you see something very faint - it may be the backlight has failed. Remember you can turn on and off with the power buttonr or closing lid.

Also try wiggling the screen gently and see if anything changes.

~Fix the Bait~ ~Pogies Forever~

Striped Bass Fishing - All Stripers


Kobayashi Maru Election - there is no way to win.


Apocalypse is Coming:
JohnR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 09:29 AM   #11
fishaholic18
Finally
iTrader: (0)
 
fishaholic18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 7,181
Try this
-remove battery and power cord
-hold in power button for 1 minute
-plug in power cord--leave battery out
-press power button to turn on laptop
Hope that works

F-18®
It IsWhat It Is


¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º >¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><(((( º>
fishaholic18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 08:44 PM   #12
Katie
Scuttlebutt
iTrader: (0)
 
Katie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Westport,MA
Posts: 2,378
Send a message via AIM to Katie Send a message via MSN to Katie Send a message via Skype™ to Katie
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnR View Post
let it boot and then take a flashlight and shine it on the screen, look all over and see if you see something very faint - it may be the backlight has failed. Remember you can turn on and off with the power buttonr or closing lid.

Also try wiggling the screen gently and see if anything changes.

Don't see anything And I tried wiggling, nadda.


Quote:
Try this
-remove battery and power cord
-hold in power button for 1 minute
-plug in power cord--leave battery out
-press power button to turn on laptop
Hope that works
Tried it, no luck either.


Wasajigifying -[ was - a - jig-i-fy-ing] - the concept of not knowing what the hell your saying.


My Photography Page!
Katie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 10:10 PM   #13
Ian
Idiot
iTrader: (0)
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie View Post
Don't see anything And I tried wiggling, nadda.




Tried it, no luck either.
Every time you boot you get a boot screen right? And it hits a point where it stops showing anything?
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

The artist formerly known as Scratch59.
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 04:10 PM   #14
Katie
Scuttlebutt
iTrader: (0)
 
Katie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Westport,MA
Posts: 2,378
Send a message via AIM to Katie Send a message via MSN to Katie Send a message via Skype™ to Katie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Every time you boot you get a boot screen right? And it hits a point where it stops showing anything?
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

Yes, exactly.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device


Wasajigifying -[ was - a - jig-i-fy-ing] - the concept of not knowing what the hell your saying.


My Photography Page!
Katie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 04:35 PM   #15
Ian
Idiot
iTrader: (0)
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie View Post
Yes, exactly.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
To me that screams formware/driver issue. The cables/hardware are working because the BIOS is able to create an image on the screen. I'm surprised safe mode doesn't work. Do you have the diagnostic CD that came with the computer?
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

The artist formerly known as Scratch59.
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 04:47 PM   #16
Redsoxticket
...
iTrader: (0)
 
Redsoxticket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MA/RI
Posts: 2,374
Did you try resetting the memory card as suggested, you tube has a video on how to
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
Redsoxticket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 05:32 PM   #17
iamskippy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
iamskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A village some where
Posts: 3,436
Did you read and try what i posted........
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 11:36 AM   #18
fishaholic18
Finally
iTrader: (0)
 
fishaholic18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 7,181
Did you try an external monitor?

F-18®
It IsWhat It Is


¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º >¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><(((( º>
fishaholic18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 11:40 AM   #19
fishaholic18
Finally
iTrader: (0)
 
fishaholic18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 7,181
Another thing you may want to try, assuming you get a display using an external monitor. Uninstall the graphics driver from the device manager in the computer and restart the computer.

F-18®
It IsWhat It Is


¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º >¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸><(((( º>
fishaholic18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Please use all necessary and proper safety precautions. STAY SAFE Striper Talk Forums
Copyright 1998-20012 Striped-Bass.com