Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Today's Posts Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Build Stuff: Custom Plug & Lure Building, Rod Building » Plug Building - Got Wood?

Plug Building - Got Wood? Got Plug?

Old 02-23-2013, 02:46 PM   #1
Hookset

sequence of events

I have been building for 3 years and follow the same sequence with each build. But, it seems like others have slightly different sequence when it comes to the eTex. Here is what I mean with the steps I take after painting the plug:

1) stick the eyes on plug
2) etex
3) use saw to clean out etex from lip
4) use dremel or drill to clean out etex from through hole
5) install hardware

While I see some install the lip, wire, swivels before etex. It looks like they use a straw to protect the swivel from the etex. This sequence makes more sense to me since it seals around the lip and tail loop, and I don't have to redrill or cut for the lip which I believes may create opportunity for water to infiltrate.

Do most install hardware and then etex, or follow the same sequence as I do? how do you keep the eTex from sticking to the straw?

Thanks
Hookset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
iamskippy

i do not install the wire beforehand cause i have a single axis threw wire spinner, i think that is where you see some builders with the wire in first, i pretty much follow what you do with the added belly grommet installed before it hits the spinner.

2012-11-05_11-02-39_148-1.mp4 Video by jmachacz | Photobucket
iamskippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 03:59 PM   #3
Hookset

Thanks for the video, nice spinner!
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
Old 02-23-2013, 04:10 PM   #4
ProfessorM
Uncle Remus

Here goes. I use Sys. 3 clear coat.
Seal Wait 1 week
Prime. Wait 1 week
Paint. Wait 1 week