Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Today's Posts Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Build Stuff: Custom Plug & Lure Building, Rod Building » Plug Building - Got Wood?

Plug Building - Got Wood? Got Plug?

Old 09-01-2005, 08:18 PM   #1
Kadywampus
Tackle Junkie

Vaccuum sealing

Hi , I'm new to this plug turning process , in fact I just finished my first plugs this weekend and owe most everything I know about making plugs to this site , thank you all. Special thanks to 'justplugit' .
I do one thing to my plugs that I haven't heard anyone else doing .
After turning and drilling the blanks , I place the blanks in a 2 quart mason jar filled with Varathane and naptha and then draw a vaccuum on the jar using a seal-a-meal unit with a jar attatchment . The Varathane penetrates the wood all the way through and should eliminate any wood swelling .
I know this in inpractical for people turning large numbers of plugs .
Is anyone using this process ?
Can anyone think of a downside to this technique ?
Thanks for any help .
Kady.
Kadywampus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 08:24 PM   #2
Slipknot
Super Moderator

only downside may be too much weight, and danger of fire if using flammable sealer and that machine.
I have an older one, maybe if I have an attachment somewhere I will try that. Thanks.

The United States Constitution does not exist to grant you rights; those rights are inherent within you. Rather it exists to frame a limited government so that those natural rights can be exercised freely.

1984 was a warning, not a guidebook!

It's time more people spoke up with the truth. Every time we let a leftist lie go uncorrected, the commies get stronger.
Slipknot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 08:35 PM   #3
Kadywampus
Tackle Junkie

re: flammable

Quote: