Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

     

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating Ľ Striper Chat - Discuss stuff other than fishing ~ The Scuppers and Political talk Ľ The Scuppers

The Scuppers This is a new forum for the not necessarily fishing related topics...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2017, 04:16 PM   #1
piemma
Very Grumpy bay man
iTrader: (0)
 
piemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 8,426
Blog Entries: 2
WiFi Oil tank gauge

Just ordered one. Sends an ultrasonic sound wave to the level of the heating oil in a typical 275 oil tank and it's accessible from your smartphone.
Prefect if you are away for a period of time in the winter and want to check your oil level.
I ordered one today and I'll post how it works out.

www.connectedconsumerfuel.com

I'm done
piemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 05:46 PM   #2
beamie
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
beamie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marshfield, MA
Posts: 1,473
Sounds cool Piemma

But right now I am typing on my phone using data for my router crapped out

Nothing WiFi based in the home which is becoming more and more stuff wonít work when the router craps out

Hopefully Verizon will have it to the house tomorrow

Sometimes you canít beat a regular gauge
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
beamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 05:53 PM   #3
Liv2Fish
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
Liv2Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chasing fat girls in the dark
Posts: 900
If this works, I'm getting one too. We buy oil on the open marked which means we need to call when we're low and you have to at least take 200 gallons to get the low price. Forgot and ran out twice last year. Nothing like dumping 15 gallons of diesel into the tank by hand. By the 3rd tank, I could have snapped off a finger as they were frozen solid.

"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children"
Liv2Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 08:52 PM   #4
beamie
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
beamie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marshfield, MA
Posts: 1,473
Years ago I had a thermostat tied into the phone line. If the house dropped below 50 and you were away and you called the House youíd get a busy signal. Then youíd called your someone to investigate. Bailed me out once.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
beamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 02:13 AM   #5
piemma
Very Grumpy bay man
iTrader: (0)
 
piemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 8,426
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamie View Post
Sounds cool Piemma

But right now I am typing on my phone using data for my router crapped out

Nothing WiFi based in the home which is becoming more and more stuff wonít work when the router craps out

Hopefully Verizon will have it to the house tomorrow

Sometimes you canít beat a regular gauge
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
Why don't you have your own router? I don't have Verizon so I don't know how that works with them but with Cox I can either rent theirs or buy my own.

I'm done
piemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 07:17 AM   #6
beamie
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
beamie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marshfield, MA
Posts: 1,473
That was all part of the fios install

I got it ups last night and back up. Spoke with some Indian kid in India and Verizon sent another no charge

He tried to get me to upgrade to some faster router for $ but I didnít go gor that.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device
beamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:50 AM   #7
piemma
Very Grumpy bay man
iTrader: (0)
 
piemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 8,426
Blog Entries: 2
WiFi tank gauge is installed and configured. I'll post the results after the first reading in 4 hours.

I'm done
piemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 01:52 PM   #8
FishermanTim
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
FishermanTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hyde Park, MA
Posts: 4,028
Now to play the devil's advocate....

Why would you wait to check your tank level until you are away from home? for a few days no less?

Seems like you could check it while you're there and schedule a delivery while you're there as well.

Of course, I could be a case like someone that's driving on fumes and they want to see if they can make it to the gas station....

Anyway, I hope it works well.
It would really suck if it gave you faulty readings.

Imagine what could happen if it tells you that you have plenty of fuel when in fact you're about to run out?

I am a legend in my own mind!
FishermanTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 05:17 PM   #9
Guppy
User
iTrader: (0)
 
Guppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 2,793
Paul
After it's up and running, power down your modem, then power it up.
Might be a good idea to see if that gauge will auto reconnect to the wi-fi
Sounds like a neat gadget... GL
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 05:22 PM   #10
spence
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
spence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: RI
Posts: 16,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guppy View Post
After it's up and running, power down your modem, then power it up.
Might be a good idea to see if that gauge will auto reconnect to the wi-fi
Sage.
spence is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 06:12 AM   #11
piemma
Very Grumpy bay man
iTrader: (0)
 
piemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 8,426
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishermanTim View Post
Now to play the devil's advocate....

Why would you wait to check your tank level until you are away from home? for a few days no less?

Seems like you could check it while you're there and schedule a delivery while you're there as well.

Of course, I could be a case like someone that's driving on fumes and they want to see if they can make it to the gas station....

Anyway, I hope it works well.
It would really suck if it gave you faulty readings.

Imagine what could happen if it tells you that you have plenty of fuel when in fact you're about to run out?
Because we are not going to be away for a few days. We will be away from Jan to April. We have people taking care of the house but I want to make sure there are no "hiccups."

I'm done
piemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 06:13 AM   #12
piemma
Very Grumpy bay man
iTrader: (0)
 
piemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 8,426
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guppy View Post
Paul
After it's up and running, power down your modem, then power it up.
Might be a good idea to see if that gauge will auto reconnect to the wi-fi
Sounds like a neat gadget... GL
It does!

I'm done
piemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 07:49 AM   #13
spence
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
spence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: RI
Posts: 16,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by piemma View Post
Because we are not going to be away for a few days. We will be away from Jan to April. We have people taking care of the house but I want to make sure there are no "hiccups."
You're going to be checking your oil level like 9 times a day.
spence is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 09:44 AM   #14
piemma
Very Grumpy bay man
iTrader: (0)
 
piemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 8,426
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by spence View Post
You're going to be checking your oil level like 9 times a day.
No, as it is set to update every 4 hours. I'll check it every few days.

I'm done
piemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 03:46 PM   #15
RIROCKHOUND
Also known as OAK
iTrader: (0)
 
RIROCKHOUND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Westlery, RI
Posts: 9,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by spence View Post
You're going to be checking your oil level like 9 times a day.
How often do you check the WiFi camera guarding all your shoes?

Bryan

Originally Posted by #^&#^&#^&#^&#^&#^&#^&#^&#^&#^&#^&
"For once I agree with Spence. UGH. I just hope I don't get the urge to go start buying armani suits to wear in my shop"
RIROCKHOUND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 03:48 PM   #16
spence
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
spence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: RI
Posts: 16,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by RIROCKHOUND View Post
How often do you check the WiFi camera guarding all your shoes?
I have an albino Bengal tiger guarding my shoes. If there's an issue he can call my cell.
spence is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:35 AM   #17
piemma
Very Grumpy bay man
iTrader: (0)
 
piemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 8,426
Blog Entries: 2
Told you guys I'd report back on the results of the Wi-Fi Oil gauge. IT IS THE BOMB!!
Works perfectly and gives me all kind of useful stats such as Gal/Hr, per week, peak times etc.
I would recommend it to anyone who would be away from their home for an extended period and wanted to monitor fuel usage.

https://www.connectedconsumerfuel.com/ is the website

I'm done
piemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Please use all necessary and proper safety precautions. STAY SAFE Striper Talk Forums
Copyright 1998-20012 Striped-Bass.com