View Full Version : Plug Help

TSPS
12-27-2005, 04:40 PM
Hello Guys ,
I got a Plug Building Kit from NJ Tackle . I've never built a lure before so I'm alittle lost . What kind of paint and sealer do I use ? Whats the best way to apply the paint/sealer ? Any help would be great , I got Kit A-40.

Thanks

numbskull
12-27-2005, 05:21 PM
Here is what I've gleaned from this site in the past couple of months.

Val-Oil/Turp 60/40 mix to seal (soak 1 minute for softwoods)
Let dry 24 hours at least, days is better.
Sand lightly with 220
Prime with Zissner Cover All (gold spray can)
Dry 24 hours, then sand with 150 or 220 (can repeat prime if desired). Wipe clean.
Paint with Krylon, wet to wet (5-10 minutes between colors), or with Createx if you've got an air brush. Don't mix types of paint (i.e., no oil base enamel over waterbase, or lacquer over enamel).
Wait 24 hours, then clearcoat with krylon clear.
Wait 7+ days, scuff sand with 400, then epoxy coat with Enviorntex or system 3.
Let dry, then trade to someone else so you get something good before the finish comes off.
Hope this helps.

Kadywampus
12-27-2005, 06:55 PM
Let dry, then trade to someone else so you get something good before the finish comes off.
Hope this helps.

Too funny .
:hihi:

justplugit
12-27-2005, 07:20 PM
Ditto Kadywampus. :laughs:
Geez NS, your way to concise and complete with your instuctions. Your gonna make these guys commercial builders in a day. :hihi: :D

sportyguy33
12-27-2005, 09:12 PM
Is the Val oil Turp a mixture of Turpentine and Val Oil?
What other types of sealers are there

FlukinUki
12-27-2005, 09:42 PM
Sportyguy...Thats a whole can of worms there. There are many, each have their advantages and disadvantages.