Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

     

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating Main Forum How To's, F.A.Q.s, Tips, & Tricks

How To's, F.A.Q.s, Tips, & Tricks How-To's, Tips & Tricks plus Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) **** Please Do Not Start Discussions or Ask New Questions in Here **** This is for popular Threads To be moved here for easy access & discussion. Post all new questions in main Stripertalk Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2004, 07:41 AM   #1
Fish On
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,322
Send a message via Yahoo to Fish On
Fish Finder Fuse Blowing

Fish finder fuse keeps blowing when I start the engine. Any thoughts on what might be causing this and how to troubleshoot? I have a humminbird wide paramount fish finder.
Fish On is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 09:06 AM   #2
fishaholic18
Finally
iTrader: (0)
 
fishaholic18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 7,181
I would start by unplugging the wiring right at the fish finder if possible then see if it blows the fuse. If it does, you have a wire shorting out, if it doesn't, you have a problem with the unit itself.

F-18
It IsWhat It Is


.`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(((( >.`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(((( >
fishaholic18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 09:49 AM   #3
Fish On
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,322
Send a message via Yahoo to Fish On
When you say unplug the wiring do you mean just disconnect the fish finder entirely?
Fish On is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 09:52 AM   #4
missing link
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
missing link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cranberry Coast Gateway 2 Cape Cod
Posts: 4,139
bad ground?

" Happy as a clam at high tide "
missing link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 10:08 AM   #5
fishaholic18
Finally
iTrader: (0)
 
fishaholic18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 7,181
Quote:
Originally posted by Fish On
When you say unplug the wiring do you mean just disconnect the fish finder entirely?
Yes, leave the wiring harness powered up and disconnect it at the unit itself. I think there is a plug on the bottom of the unit.

F-18
It IsWhat It Is


.`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(((( >.`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(((( >
fishaholic18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:58 AM   #6
Fish On
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,322
Send a message via Yahoo to Fish On
Thanks for the advice. I'm going to check out both these issues this weekend. By the way, in the meantime I called Humminbord and spoke to their tech service manager who repaired the unit twice. His name is Jobe, tough to get hold of but very nice once you do. Anyway, instead of fixing the unit he offered to send me a newer version. I told him I didn't want to rewire/replace any of the hardware on the boat so he is sending me the Matrix 37. He says that the only thing I will have to do is remove the small (2 screws) bracket on the mount and change it to a new one and the new unit will fit and work fine. I was a little hesitant about making the switch because when I looked up the 2 unit on line the Wide Paramount model that I have is twice the price. But when you look at the features it appears that the 37 is better across the board except that the wide paramount has a xcreen that is a fraction of an inch larger. Anyway, long story short, it appears that the competition in fish finders is what has forced the price of the newer models down so far, so the 37 is a much better deal if you are looking at Humminbird's and it sounds like it is an easy upgrade from the Wide Paramount if that's what you are using now (about $350 total). Some of the key differences are more depth 1500 ft vs 100 ft, more power 500 watts vs 300, and a lower frequency 83 khtz option that I think will allow better viewing in deeper water. WP only goes down to 200 khtz. Also, works in a voltage range of 10 to 20 volts, WP is 12 volts only so I'm hoping it will be more forgiving if their is a voltage fluctuation.

Anyway, thanks for the advice, I want to make sure the electrical is ok before I mount up the new unit so I don't blow that one as well.
Fish On is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:59 AM   #7
Fish On
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,322
Send a message via Yahoo to Fish On
typo wide paramount depth should read 1000 ft
Fish On is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 11:21 AM   #8
fishaholic18
Finally
iTrader: (0)
 
fishaholic18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 7,181
Cool. That's an awesome deal. Good luck.

F-18
It IsWhat It Is


.`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(((( >.`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(((( >
fishaholic18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin. Copyright 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Please use all necessary and proper safety precautions. STAY SAFE Striper Talk Forums
Copyright 1998-20012 Striped-Bass.com