Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Today's Posts Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Main Forum » StriperTalk!

StriperTalk! All things Striper

Old 07-27-2006, 09:22 AM   #1
G-Man
G-Man

Im a newbie...

I'm traveling to Jersey at the end of August from Minneapolis MN and I am looking to get into some Striper fishing. I would really love it if I could have some fun fishing from shore since I will not have access to my own boat.

Does anyone care to share some potential spots, lures, tactics, and or help hooking me up with some fish? I will be staying near Cape May and Avalon, I believe.

Here in Minnesota, I belong to an online network called Fishing Minnesota.com. When we speak about spots, tactics, and which lakes are hitting in the Metro area, we are very careful not to give away too much to those that do not respect the fishery. I am an avid angler and practice catch and release with just a few here and there going to the frying pan. I have not had much experience with surf fishing or saltwater fishing, but I have done it a few times. I understand if you are hesitant to give away any secrets, but I would greatly appreciate any help you guys can give. Thanks.
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 09:50 AM   #2
Sluggoslinger

I'd check the FAQ's section. Also for what you'll spend on gear while you're here, you might be better off getting a charter. I know there are some charter captains on this site that WILL put you on fish.
Sluggoslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 02:23 PM   #3
G-Man
G-Man

Thanks for the info