Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Today's Posts Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Main Forum » StriperTalk!

StriperTalk! All things Striper

Old 11-15-2007, 09:52 AM   #1
Slick Moedee

Wading dos and don't

I removed this from the other thread as I would not want it to be interpreted as commenting on that tragic event versus looking to tap into the expertise the exists here to assist some of us in learning from others experiences.

For those of us that do not wade all that often, could some one shed a little light how this occurs and what you do to minimize the risks. Is it more often than not the inability to stand up once dunked? Now I am not a complete newbie, wader belts, avoid going solo, knowing the area, etc., but as I expand my horizons from the rock points of the Northshore I would like to tap into the experience of those that have been there and done that.
Slick Moedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 09:58 AM   #2
RIJIMMY
sick of bluefish

I think a wading belt is key. Know your limits, dont go out farther than you are comfortable. It seems obvious, but waves make knee deep water, chest deep at times.
Felt boots always worked wonders for me at DH.

making s-b.com a kinder, gentler place for all
RIJIMMY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 10:02 AM   #3
JohnR
Certifiable Intertidal Anguiologist

Suit up and get the air out. Air will be replaced by water should something spring up. Good waders topped by a good dry top that is or near leak proof, tightened off by a good wader belt (some use 2). While not a wet suit this will give you more stability should you get tossed.