Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

     

Left Nav S-B Home Register FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating Striper Chat - Discuss stuff other than fishing ~ The Scuppers and Political talk Computers

Computers Sidetrack to Computers, Questions on your home computer? Posting just for registered members....

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2011, 12:59 PM   #1
Saltheart
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Saltheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cumberland,RI
Posts: 8,550
Any free 1 click clone programs for system backup?

I have been using the Win 7 backup for a couple of months. Apparently it does a drive image but not a complete clone saving all files , etc. I use to use a program called "drive image" about 15 years ago and then after that I have a "ghost" simple 1 executable file on a floppy that worked great. Both these programs did exact clones of your system. If you had a problem you just swapped the backup to the boot drive then F disced and formated the problem drive. You could then clone to that one and unplug it and always had an absolutely complete clone just in case.

Anyway , more recently , like maybe the last 10 years or less , I used a Mxtor utility to do clones of the system HD. A few times I ran into issues if i used it on non Maxtor drives.

Bottom line , I am looking for a free clone program that does a true clone , not an image that also requires a system restore disc . I want to make an exact , all system files included clone. Anybody know a program for that now?

Saltheart
Custom Crafted Rods by Saltheart
Saltheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 03:07 PM   #2
Saltheart
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Saltheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cumberland,RI
Posts: 8,550
No help here? Nobody cloning their OSD for a bomb proof backup??

Saltheart
Custom Crafted Rods by Saltheart
Saltheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 09:19 PM   #3
JohnR
Certifiable Intertidal Anguiologist
iTrader: (1)
 
JohnR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Somewhere between OOB & west of Watch Hill
Posts: 31,693
Blog Entries: 1
I'm using a different product that isn't free (Shadow Protect or Acronis depending on machine) If it blows up I may restore or do a clean install. Next build I'll get somewhat finished and backup just in case.

Clonezilla will do what you want but you'll need a CD to boot from to restore. If you want, ypoiu can run clonezilla to another HDD and have a swappable restore.

~Fix the Bait~ ~Pogies Forever~

Striped Bass Fishing - All Stripers


Kobayashi Maru Election - there is no way to win.


Apocalypse is Coming:
JohnR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 12:07 PM   #4
Saltheart
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Saltheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cumberland,RI
Posts: 8,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnR View Post
I'm using a different product that isn't free (Shadow Protect or Acronis depending on machine) If it blows up I may restore or do a clean install. Next build I'll get somewhat finished and backup just in case.

Clonezilla will do what you want but you'll need a CD to boot from to restore. If you want, ypoiu can run clonezilla to another HDD and have a swappable restore.
That's what I'm doing now. I want to go back to what I did in the past for the total cloned drive I can just plug in and out.

I've gotten 3 serious viruses in the past 3 or 4 years. Now 3 isn't bad but where I got them is rediculous.

1) Irish sayings site on St Patricks Day
2) Leagal eagle web page looking for a New Jersey lawyer
3) Java update.

There was a time when you could avoid viruses pretty much by just staying away from porn sites. Not anymore. Its obvious you can't avoid all the crap out there now so I want to be able to just swap in a clean OSD and just repetition (Fdisk) and format the infected drive then clone it back to life.

I'll post whatever I decide on as its a good strategy (having a cloned backup) others may want to follow.

Saltheart
Custom Crafted Rods by Saltheart
Saltheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 12:09 PM   #5
Saltheart
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Saltheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cumberland,RI
Posts: 8,550
Oh , BTW , I know a clone has everything but a "restore" just has certain critical stuff but not every single file. Is that correct?
Saltheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 12:38 PM   #6
JohnR
Certifiable Intertidal Anguiologist
iTrader: (1)
 
JohnR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Somewhere between OOB & west of Watch Hill
Posts: 31,693
Blog Entries: 1
In an ideal world I would have all of my data one drive with data backups and all my apps/OS on another drive. I would do a weekly / monthly full + incremental on data and I would do a weekly full image of apps * OS so I can do a "bare metal recovery" if need be.

Office systems / servers I do differently, prefering a full nightly backup that can do "bare metal recovery". You never know.

~Fix the Bait~ ~Pogies Forever~

Striped Bass Fishing - All Stripers


Kobayashi Maru Election - there is no way to win.


Apocalypse is Coming:
JohnR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 02:49 PM   #7
Adam_777
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
Adam_777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N.K.
Posts: 1,329
I did a fresh install win7 updated the OS and installed most of the programs I use all the time.Then I used acronis to back the entire image to DVD.I haven't had to use it yet.You can never be too safe.I also keep a backup using the win7 built in tool in case for any reason the acronis fails.Last resort is just reinstall win7 and spend a couple hours updating and re downloading and installing.Good luck I know for me installing windows and getting it back to where I want it to be is always a pain.I have a separate hard drive I put anything I want to keep on files wise not programs.I try and not clutter the OS install hard drive.
Adam_777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 07:22 PM   #8
Saltheart
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Saltheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cumberland,RI
Posts: 8,550
I got a program from Maxtor/Seagate and another from Western Digital . As long As I buy one of those three brands I should be all set. Downloaded both from their respective home pages/downloads.

I plan to buy the exact drive I am using for my OSD which is a Seagate. Makes sense to use the exact drive so no resizing patitions , etc , just an exact clone.

Saltheart
Custom Crafted Rods by Saltheart
Saltheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin. Copyright 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Please use all necessary and proper safety precautions. STAY SAFE Striper Talk Forums
Copyright 1998-20012 Striped-Bass.com